

AUJS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2023 LETTER FROM THE RETURNING OFFICER NATALIE GUNN

NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Notice is hereby given of the 2023 Annual General Meeting of the Australasian Union of Jewish Students (AUJS), to be held on Sunday 10 September at 3:00PM.

The Returning Officer for the AGM this year is Natalie Gunn..

MESSAGE FROM THE RETURNING OFFICER

Please see enclosed all relevant information for the AUJS Annual Assembly and Annual General Meeting 2023.

All documents, including Registration Forms, Nomination Forms for the AUJS National Executive Elections and the AUJS Constitution are available via the links in this letter.

This message has been sent to each National Executive member, the Vice President of each constituent organisation and the President of each affiliate organisation.

i. Constitutional Amendments

Proposed amendments to the AUJS Constitution must be emailed to the Returning Officer no later than 6pm on Sunday 27th August 2023.

No proposed amendments can be accepted after this date, so that the Returning Officer may provide 14 days' notice to all constituent organisations, per Point 16.1 of the Constitution.

ii. Nominations

Nomination forms for election must be submitted to the Returning Officer by 6pm on Sunday 3 September. The acceptance of nominations after this date will be at the discretion of the Returning Officer. To nominate for a position, please fill out this form. Once you have completed the form, a document will be sent to you, your proposer and seconder to sign. Please make sure this is completed by the deadline.

Pending any amendments to the Constitution, positions up for election are: - - President

- Vice President

- Treasurer
- Fundraising Coordinator
- Public Affairs Coordinator
- Campaigns Coordinator
- Conferences Coordinator
- Leadership and Development Coordinator
- Jewish Engagement Coordinator
- Marketing Coordinator
- Queer Officer

In line with section **8.1.1** of the constitution, all nominees must be members of the Union and must be proposed and seconded by members of the Union.

iii. Policy Motions

Proposed Policy Motions must be submitted to the returning officer by Sunday the 3 of September. If you wish to submit a policy motion please fill out <u>this form</u>.

iiii. Voting

The AUJS Constitution outlines voting and electoral procedures for general meetings,

including the applicable Standing Orders, attached in Appendix C. The number of votes calculated are based on membership numbers as of Friday 18th of August 2023...

Section 9 of the Constitution stipulates the procedure for calculating the number of votes. In line with the membership requirements of 9.2 of the Constitution, voting entitlements are as follows:

Region	Campus	Members	Votes
NSW	UNSW	60	2
	USyd	93	2
	UTS	29	1
	Macquarie	51	2
	Wollongong	9	0
Monash Caulf Swinburne VIC Deakin RMIT La Trobe ACU (SPJS)	Monash Clayton (MONJSS)	155	4
	Monash Caulfield	28	1
	Swinburne	24	1
	Deakin	48	1
	RMIT	17	1
	La Trobe	14	1
	ACU (SPJS)	13	1
	Melbourne (MUJSS)	101	3
	QLD		0
	UWA	17	1
	1		
NZ	Wellington	2	0
	Auckland	3	0
	Otago	7	0
SA	Adelaide	26	1
ACT	ANU	45	1
	Total	761	22

Region	Dels.	Votes
NSW	10	13
VIC	17	20
SA	2	3
WA	3	5
NZ	2	2
ACT	2	3
Total	36	46

VOTES TABLE					
Members	Votes				
0	0				
10	1				
50	2				
100	3				
150	4				
200	5				
250	6				
350	7				
450	8				
550	9				
650	10				

Delegate	Vote as	Votes	Region	Туре	
Alissa Foster	President	1	NSW	Union	
Paris Enten	Vice President	1	VIC	Union	
Nathan Levy	Treasurer	1	VIC	Union	
Noah Loven	Public Affairs	1	VIC	Union	
Tanna Klevansky	Campaigns	1	NSW	Union	
Max Levy	Leadership & Dev	1	VIC	Union	
Gadi Fisher	Jewish Engagement	1	WA	Union	
Adam Marks	Jewish Engagement	1	NSW	Union	
Eliezer Salpater	Queer Officer	1	NSW	Union	
Adena Sheps	Marketing	1	VIC	Union	
Nathan Rogut	NSW President	1	NSW	Regional	
Phebe Parish	NSW Vice President	1	NSW	Regional	
Jilly Permezel	VIC President	1	VIC	Regional	
Joey Zeleznikow	VIC Vice President	1	VIC	Regional	
	SA President		SA	Regional	
Jonathan ladarola	AUJSS President	2	SA	Campus	
Jasmine Beinart	SA Vice President	1	SA	Regional	
	WA President	2		Regional	
Grace Ehrenfeld	UWA President		WA	Campus	
	WA Vice President		WA	Regional	
Sara Benjamin	Curtin President	2	WA	Campus	
Tremayne Thompson	NZ President	1	NZ	Regional	
	NZ Delegate	1	NZ	Regional	
	ACT President				Regional
Joe Hadassin	ANU	2	ACT	Campus	
Max Babus	Act President	1	ACT	Regional	
Aiden Katz	UNSW	2	NSW	Campus	
Lior Yoffe	USyd	2	NSW	Campus	
Raphella Revis	UTS	1	NSW	Campus	
Josh Zaid	Macquarie	2	NSW	Campus	
Mima Schwartz	Wollongong	0	NSW	Campus	
Eli Borowick	MonJSS	2	VIC	Campus	
Gila Bloch	MonJSS	2	VIC	Campus	
Holly Feldman	MUJSS	2	VIC	Campus	
Ashleigh Harris	MUJSS	1	VIC	Campus	
Gav Watts	Monash Caulfield	1	VIC	Campus	
	Deakin		VIC	Campus	

If any of the above delegates are unable to attend the AGM, they must submit a proxy form to the Returning Officer. Note, a delegate may not hold more than two votes and a vote must ordinarily be held by a delegate from the relevant region or campus. The proxy form has been attached to this email. Please note any proxy vote holders must also be members of the Union.

Contact

Please direct all enquiries and submit all constitutional amendments to the Returning Officer at returningofficer@aujs.com.au.